Past Events

  • Sun, May 16
    Bower Center For the Arts
    Fifteen years ago, the Bower Center for the Arts opened its doors to our community. To commemorate the creativity fostered in that time we are planning a Doors Reimagined Event/Auction. Participate in two ways: Enter to reimagine a door or bid on a completed reimagined door! Click for more details!
    Share
  • Sat, Oct 17
    Online Paint Party
    This virtual event is themed around our Orange Art Exhibition and funds raised will support future programming for the Bower. This fun and interactive event will provide all participants with everything they need to create a work of art safely from their home!
    Share
  • Sat, Aug 01
    Community Project
    Bedford CommuniTREE
    The Bower Center for the arts and The Bedford Area Chamber of Commerce are proud to come together to create a piece of art to symbolize the tight knit community that Bedford truly is. Visit the Start At Home to create your leaf and help build our CommuniTREE.
    Share
  • Wed, Jul 29
    The Bower Center for the Arts
    The 8th Annual National Juried Exhibition
    This exhibit has historically seen artworks in numerous media- painting, drawing, print-making, collage, photography, sculpture, mosaics, fiber art, fabric, stained and fused glass, and more. We invite you to visit this exciting national exhibit in its 8th year online or in person. FREE admission.
    Share
  • Sat, May 23
    Facebook Live on Bower Center page
    1-Hr Session on Facebook Live
    Share
  • Sat, Feb 29
    Bower Center For the Arts
    Guided tastings of 5 Select Trios
    Share
  • Sun, Jan 19
    Bower Center For the Arts
    "Immigrants to America" presentation by Sergei Troubetzkoy
    Share
  • Fri, Dec 20
    Bower Center For the Arts
    Award-winning Virginia playwright Dwayne Yancey presents the story of three international students who find themselves snowbound in an American airport, unable to get home for Christmas.
    Share
  • Sat, Dec 14
    Bower Center For the Arts
    Free community concert: Mariachi classics and music celebrated in Mexico at Christmas
    Share
  • Fri, Dec 13
    Bower Center For the Arts
    Immigration Exhibition Opens, Gallery Talk with Suzanne Paddock Shop: Winter Gifts
    Share
  • Sat, Nov 30
    Bower Center For the Arts
    Gift Shopping, Music, Holiday Mimosas & More A unique market of Local & Handmade Items Only
    Share
  • Thu, Oct 31
    Bower Center For the Arts
    Free photobooth and trick-or-treat walkthrough, sponsored by Bank of the James
    Share
  • Sat, Oct 19
    Bower Center For the Arts
    New Standard is a young, high energy group that plays a mix of traditional Bluegrass and Gospel music, honoring Bill Monroe, Flatt & Scruggs, Reno & Smiley, and The Stanley Brothers.
    Share
  • Sat, Sep 28
    Bower Center For the Arts
    The real, true blues with a booming voice and powerful slide guitar work...
    Share
  • Sat, Jul 13
    Bower Center for the Arts
    An eclectic mix of American folk music spanning several centuries and many genres.
    Share
  • Sat, Jun 29
    Bedford Central Library
    Multiple Dates and times: click MORE for full details
    Share
  • Thu, Jun 20
    Bower Center For the Arts
    A welcoming listening room for veterans and their families and friends.
    Share
  • Fri, Jun 14
    Bower Center For the Arts
    Open Special Hours 5-8pm in collaboration with 2nd Fridays in Bedford THIS IS OUR SERVICE: American Vets Make Art
    Share
  • Fri, May 31
    Bower Center For the Arts
    Theatrical and musical performances, meet the exhibiting artists, and join us for refreshments in celebration of the exhibit THIS IS OUR SERVICE: America's Veterans Make Art
    Share
  • Wed, May 29
    Bedford
    A Welcoming Listening Room
    Share
  • Sun, May 19
    Bower Center For the Arts
    Bluegrass Heritage - Family Harmony
    Share
  • Sun, May 19
    Bower Center For the Arts
    Free & Open to the Public: Presentation and Discussion The Art of the Movie Poster/Virginians in Hollywood
    Share
  • Sat, May 18
    Bower Center For the Arts
    A reception to honor heroes and celebrate the new additions to the Wharton Garden.
    Share
  • Sat, May 04
    Bower Center For the Arts
    Free Admission - indoor handmade market featuring live music, brunch, mimosas, and kids' activities.
    Share
  • Sat, Apr 27
    Bower Center For the Arts
    High-energy mash-ups: Top 40, pop, old school, R&B, americana, blues, rock, jazz, & country...
    Share
  • Sun, Apr 07
    Bower Center For the Arts
    Free and open to the public
    Share
  • Thu, Mar 21
    Bower Center For the Arts
    Open Mic Night: Free and Open to the public!
    Share
  • Sun, Mar 10
    Bower Center For the Arts
    Free and Open to the Public All Skill Levels Welcome
    Share
  • Fri, Mar 08
    Bower Center For the Arts
    Open Special Hours 5-8pm
    Share
  • Sat, Feb 23
    Bower Center For the Arts
    Eclectic, immersive and mesmerizing; International acclaimed guitarist and songwriter Hiroya Tsukamoto takes us on an innovative, impressionistic journey filled with earthy, organic soundscapes that impart a mood of peace and tranquility.
    Share
  • Wed, Jan 30
    Bower Center For the Arts
    The #WingsofArt community project is complete!
    Share
  • Thu, Jan 17
    Bower Center For the Arts
    Monthly listening room for musicians and poets Originals and Covers welcome
    Share
  • Sat, Dec 15
    Bower Center For the Arts
    Shop local handcrafted goods and enjoy mimoas, brunch, live music, and a Kids Makers Workshop!
    Share
  • Sun, Dec 09
    Bower Center For the Arts
    CANCELED Shopping sales, artist demonstrations, live music and more presented by a collaborative creative community.
    Share
  • Sat, Dec 08
    Bower Center For the Arts
    Free Holiday Concert
    Share
  • Sat, Dec 08
    Bower Center For the Arts
    monthly drop-in art experiences for kids and adults
    Share
  • Sat, Dec 01
    Bower Center For the Arts
    Enjoy punch and cookies and a photobooth with Ellie the Elephant during the Bedford Christmas Parade!
    Share
  • Tue, Nov 27
    Bower Center For the Arts
    A community-building initiative to install a movie theater at Bower Center for the Arts!
    Share
  • Sat, Nov 24
    Bower Center For the Arts
    Support local! Shop our Giving Tree and visit open artist studios
    Share
  • Sun, Nov 18
    Bower Center For the Arts
    Free & Open to the Public: Presentation and Discussion The Art of the Movie Poster/Virginians in Hollywood
    Share
  • Fri, Nov 16
    Bower Center For the Arts
    Join Inspirare as we bring your favorite show tunes to the stage!
    Share
  • Thu, Nov 15
    Bower Center For the Arts
    A collaborative community of musicians and poets. OPEN MIC- 3rd Thursday of every month, 7-9 pm OPEN JAM- 2nd Sunday of every month, 2-4 pm
    Share
  • Sat, Nov 10
    Bower Center For the Arts
    monthly drop-in art experiences for kids and adults
    Share
  • Fri, Nov 09
    Bower Center For the Arts
    Special open gallery hours in conjunction with art-happenings throughout Bedford
    Share
  • Sat, Nov 03
    Bower Center For the Arts
    An event to honor the legacy of Suzie's passion and support of the arts. - Hors d'oeuvres included - Cash Bar - Black tie optional -
    Share
  • Sat, Oct 20
    Bower Center For the Arts
    Focusing on quality sound and entertaining performance, New Standard Bluegrass keeps bluegrass music alive for our generation and future generations to enjoy.
    Share
  • Sun, Oct 14
    Bower Center For the Arts
    The Bower Center for the Arts is going to the dogs in honor of Adopt-a-Shelter-Pet Month!
    Share
  • Thu, Sep 20
    Bower Center For the Arts
    music and poetry open mic
    Share
  • Sun, Sep 09
    305 N Bridge St
    ***ONLINE REGISTRATION CLOSED: TICKETS AVAILABLE AT THE GATE***
    Share
  • Sun, Aug 26
    Bower Center For the Arts
    Free! Original works written by local playwrights to be performed one night only!
    Share
  • Sat, Aug 25
    Bower Center For the Arts
    Combine your most beloved musical memories with a foot-stomping string band and top it off with harmonies that spring straight from the soul of the mountains, and you’ve got After Jack.
    Share
  • Fri, Aug 10
    Bower Center For the Arts
    A collaborative night of art-happenings throughout Bedford, VA!
    Share
  • Thu, Aug 02
    Bower Center For the Arts
    music and poetry open mic
    Share
  • Sat, Jul 28
    Bower Center For the Arts
    A trio of local Bedford musicians who perform an eclectic mix of American folk music.
    Share
  • Fri, Jul 27
    Bower Center For the Arts
    In the wake of current and nearly continuous national disasters and man-made violence, people all over the world have awakened and responded in the truest form of the spirit. We are seemingly at our best when confronted by our worst.
    Share
  • Thu, Jul 19
    Bower Center For the Arts
    Local songwriters Caroline Guske, Josh Sosin, catherine the great
    Share
  • Thu, Jul 19
    Bower Center For the Arts
    music and poetry open mic and songwriter/poet series
    Share
  • Wed, Jul 18
    Bower Center For the Arts
    A toe-tapping wholesome night of bluegrass, country, and gospel by the Little Mountain Boys!
    Share
  • Mon, Jul 16
    Bower Center For the Arts
    July 16-20 Grades 3-6 Playful Exploration of 3d Materials: Exploring, Building and Creating
    Share
  • Tue, Jul 10
    Bower Center For the Arts
    Meet your instructor, Catherine Backus, and spend 4 weeks in a workshop that will provide the tools and the feedback you need to improve your songwriting and performance skills. Discover what makes the best songs so great, learn to be your own editor and learn to be the best YOU!
    Share
  • Tue, Jul 03
    Bower Center For the Arts
    Free! Original works written by local playwrights to be performed one night only!
    Share
  • Sat, Jun 30
    Bower Center For the Arts
    A toe-tapping wholesome night of bluegrass, country, and gospel by the Little Mountain Boys!
    Share
  • Thu, Jun 28
    305 N Bridge St
    Entry fee for No Borders/No Boundaries Exhibit at Bower Center for the Arts
    Share
  • Sat, Jun 23
    Bower Center For the Arts
    Love the musical Hamilton? Know the songs? Or just like to sing? Join us at the Bower Center for the Arts for "Hamiltunes", a sing-a-long of songs from the Tony Award winning musical! *Tickets are Free*
    Share
  • Mon, Jun 18
    Bower Center For the Arts
    June 18-22 8:30am-12:30pm 4-6 graders Explore the worlds of digital design, drawing and painting in this fun and educational camp.
    Share
  • Mon, Jun 11
    Bower Center For the Arts
    June 11th-22nd, Monday-Friday 2 pm - 5 pm Rising 8th - 12th Graders In 24 hours over the course of 2 weeks, students will write, rehearse, and perform their own productions!
    Share
  • Sat, Jun 09
    Bower Center For the Arts
    Going back to our roots! Echoes of Appalachia will have you stomping your feet and singing along as Spectrum Arts Society brings you Bluegrass and folks songs.
    Share
  • Mon, Jun 04
    Bower Center For the Arts
    June 4-8 8:30am-12:30pm Ages 9-13 For one week only, two worlds collide for Comic Book Mosaics Camp! Create your own comic and a mosaic cartoon stepping stone. POW!
    Share
  • Sat, Jun 02
    Bower Center For the Arts
    Alt-Country artist bringing his newest 4th solo acoustic album to Bower Center.
    Share
  • Fri, Jun 01
    305 N Bridge St
    Learn the basics of crochet!
    Share
  • Thu, May 31
    Bower Center For the Arts
    Upcycle thrift store finds, or refashion your own wardrobe into something new with guidance from a master seamstress.
    Share
  • Thu, May 31
    305 N Bridge St
    Learn the basics of crochet!
    Share
  • Thu, May 31
    305 N Bridge St
    Learn and explore the wonderful world of clay! In this class we will use techniques such as coil, pinch and slab to create decorative and functional ware.
    Share
  • Sat, May 19
    Bower Center For the Arts
    Eclectic, immersive and mesmerizing; International acclaimed guitarist and songwriter Hiroya Tsukamoto takes us on an innovative, impressionistic journey filled with earthy, organic soundscapes that impart a mood of peace and tranquility.
    Share
  • Sat, May 19
    Bower Center For the Arts
    Introduction to Composing for Guitar
    Share
  • Sat, May 12
    Bower Center For the Arts
    From Roanoke, VA, Lenny Marcus Trio has headlined at globally recognized Jazz places like Blues Alley, the vaunted Washington, D.C., jazz and supper club.
    Share
  • Sun, May 06
    Bower Center For the Arts
    6th Annual National Juried Exhibition Entry Fee
    Share
  • Sat, Apr 28
    305 N Bridge St
    Mimosas, brunch and live music awaits you at this exquisite Urban Indoor Makers Market This event is free and open to the public.
    Share
  • Fri, Apr 27
    Bower Center For the Arts
    Learn basics and alteration techniques that can help you fix things in a snap in this 4 week course!
    Share
  • Thu, Apr 26
    Bower Center For the Arts
    Upcycle thrift store finds, or refashion your own wardrobe into something new with guidance from a master seamstress.
    Share
  • Thu, Apr 26
    305 N Bridge St
    Learn and explore the wonderful world of clay! In this class we will use techniques such as coil, pinch and slab to create decorative and functional ware.
    Share
  • Wed, Apr 25
    Bower Center For the Arts
    Students ages 8-12 will be introduced to basic techniques and foundations for drawing.
    Share
  • Tue, Apr 24
    Bower Center For the Arts
    A fun and encouraging beginners clay class for elementary-aged students.
    Share
  • Mon, Apr 23
    Bower Center For the Arts
    Yoga helps ripple wonderfulness into the world! For 4th and 5th graders.
    Share
  • Sat, Apr 21
    Bower Center For the Arts
    An exciting mix of 20th Century Works brought to Bower Center in collaboration with Amherst Glebe Arts Response, Inc. (AGAR)
    Share
  • Sun, Apr 15
    305 N Bridge St
    Meet Eleanor Roosevelt, as portrayed in a one-woman show by actress Jane Van Boskirk. The show is sponsored by Bedford Professional Women.
    Share
  • Thu, Apr 12
    Bower Center For the Arts
    Discover what all this crafting buzz is about. Join the party of makers!
    Share
  • Wed, Apr 11
    Bower Center For the Arts
    After-school improv workshop for 6th-8th graders -- practice by playing!
    Share
  • Tue, Mar 27
    Bower Center For the Arts
    Learn how this vibrant glass is made, the differences, (depending on the manufacturer), and how to use the traditional hammer and hardie and modern wheeled cutters for cutting and shaping.
    Share
  • Mon, Mar 26
    Bower Center For the Arts
    Mondays, 5:30-6:30pm. Calm your mind and settle your body with mindfulness meditation, mantra meditations, guided imagery, yoga nidra and more.
    Share
  • Sun, Mar 25
    Bower Center For the Arts
    Artist entry fee for No Borders/No Boundaries Exhibition
    Share